Possible MSN scam
I've noticed a couple of the contacts on my MSN list have started displaying 'http://msncheck.41m.com - free way to check who blocked and deleted you on msn'. Naturally I went to this website to investigate and found that it promised the ability to check if anyone has blocked or deleted me, provided I gave my msn username and password.
Now there is no way I'm giving my username or password to anyone, let alone an unknown website. However, I was curious as to what would happen if I did. I tried the website with false information:

Note the 'your login info will be stored on our server for future use*'. This is the closest to any sort of privacy statement and/or website intent.
It then told me that it couldn't connect to my account (not surprisingly), and attempted to install a search bar. Ouch. All of this leads me to one conclusion: it's some sort of viral scam.
I may of course be wrong, but the way I see it working is this. You enter your details into the website which then stores them for future use*. Meanwhile, the website logs into your account and changes your name to contain a link back to the website (while putting adverts onto your computer with the search bar). Now all your friends will see the website's address and will probably also click on it. And so the website spreads.
Digging a bit further I find that the site has been registered to the following individual:
41M
41M - (sam@41m.com)
+1.-
Fax: -, +1.-
1212 AIM st
AIM, CA 0000000
US
Would you trust those details?
My own opinion is to avoid this website. At the end of the day, does it really matter if someone has blocked you? If they have then what are you going to do - tell them you know and force them to talk to you?
Whether the website does allow you to check for blocked/deleted friends I don't know, but I do know that once they have your password they have full access to your email and can probably extract other passwords and account details that might be stored there. This could potentially give them access to much more sensitive data. If you (or any of your friends) have entered details here then I would advise you change your password pronto.
* Future use being something bad
Suggested solutions
If you have already signed up for this service, and downloaded the 'search bar', then there are a couple of things you can do to clean your system out:
- Change your password and password hint immediately
- Run a Spyware/Trojan/Adware detection program:
- Run a virus scan






Comments (page 9 of 10)
Aug 3, 2007 1:04 pm
it steals ur password so other ppl affiliated with the site can read ur mail at anytime they also have a sister site which requires u pay 20 and get anyone msn password who has accessed that site u were warned
Apr 22, 2007 2:50 pm
i went onto the site msn.41m.com earlia n went through 2 c who had blocked me. it showed me the ppl who had deleted but not blocked me. nothin yet 2 happen. do u still think i should run a virus check and change my email?
Apr 21, 2007 1:02 pm
hey, my email: busted_babe25@hotmail.com got hacked,does anyone know to get its password, if u guys can plz send it to jmac_in_my_dreamz@hotmail.co.uk
Apr 16, 2007 1:27 am
Jen, read the 'suggested solutions' at the top of this page.
Apr 13, 2007 8:39 pm
I'm trying to follow but I've gotten a little lost after reading so many replies...
I (VERY stupidly) used this site. I changed my password and question(within 15 min)..after finding this site. However, I almost immediately got a call from a friend asking what the hell was up..It had already changed my display name to "Jen...check out msn 41 m" on her contact list. How do I get rid of this??
Apr 12, 2007 6:04 pm
if I have a imac (which is I think anti virus), would it still effect my computer?
Apr 8, 2007 10:23 am
I know i just cant believe this scam. AT first i thought it was a really cool website to go on, i found it out beacuse one of my friends had this as their name "Siick website http://www.msn.41m.com. i thought there wasnt ant thing wrong with that AT FIRST. But then i saw another persons name like that sign on.i was terribly confused by this.I asked my friend and she said that she thinks its some viruss/scanndal. at first i doubted it. but i logged on on my account on the old messenger at it was.. "Siick website http://www.msn.41m.com." i am so angry at them.:@
Feb 20, 2007 6:54 am
For those of you who have the pop up during msn conversations, here is how to get rid of the msn block checker.
Hit Ctrl Alt Del
click on the 'processes tab'
find the msn block checker program, which should be obvious.(if unsure, don't do it or ask a more expierienced user)
click on it.
Click on end process.
Open up my computer, local C drive, Program files, msn block checker.
inside the folder delete everything, after that remove the folder.
Go and empty the Recycle bin, Tadaaaaaa. That teaches you to never trust those damn sites. silly me , i fell for it too
Jan 3, 2007 4:32 am
Thanks for having all this information to inform people. I had a feeling this was a phishing scam but others may not be so lucky. Thanks to you though alot of people will have better luck.
Dec 8, 2006 1:27 pm
well I am thinking about changing from the toolbar also Tammy.Because it takes to long to load!!
Leave a comment