Possible MSN scam

Aug 14, 2005 | Tags: , , | Written by John

I've noticed a couple of the contacts on my MSN list have started displaying 'http://msncheck.41m.com - free way to check who blocked and deleted you on msn'. Naturally I went to this website to investigate and found that it promised the ability to check if anyone has blocked or deleted me, provided I gave my msn username and password.

Now there is no way I'm giving my username or password to anyone, let alone an unknown website. However, I was curious as to what would happen if I did. I tried the website with false information:

MSN Check

Note the 'your login info will be stored on our server for future use*'. This is the closest to any sort of privacy statement and/or website intent.

It then told me that it couldn't connect to my account (not surprisingly), and attempted to install a search bar. Ouch. All of this leads me to one conclusion: it's some sort of viral scam.

I may of course be wrong, but the way I see it working is this. You enter your details into the website which then stores them for future use*. Meanwhile, the website logs into your account and changes your name to contain a link back to the website (while putting adverts onto your computer with the search bar). Now all your friends will see the website's address and will probably also click on it. And so the website spreads.

Digging a bit further I find that the site has been registered to the following individual:

41M
41M - (sam@41m.com)
+1.-
Fax: -, +1.-
1212 AIM st
AIM, CA 0000000
US

Would you trust those details?

My own opinion is to avoid this website. At the end of the day, does it really matter if someone has blocked you? If they have then what are you going to do - tell them you know and force them to talk to you?

Whether the website does allow you to check for blocked/deleted friends I don't know, but I do know that once they have your password they have full access to your email and can probably extract other passwords and account details that might be stored there. This could potentially give them access to much more sensitive data. If you (or any of your friends) have entered details here then I would advise you change your password pronto.

* Future use being something bad

Suggested solutions

If you have already signed up for this service, and downloaded the 'search bar', then there are a couple of things you can do to clean your system out:

  1. Change your password and password hint immediately
  2. Run a Spyware/Trojan/Adware detection program:
  3. Run a virus scan
Share This

Comments (page 8 of 10)

  1. author
    nicole :

    Nov 29, 2006 6:06 pm

    What ever I don't think that, that is possible and I don't think anybody would delete my msn because they ain't dumn like that. Cuz I would fight them in a heart beat!!!

  2. author
    Jess :

    Nov 23, 2006 7:28 am

    SWEET thank yew SO much for tellin me xoxo. much luvv, jess x|3

  3. author
    nicole :

    Nov 22, 2006 8:39 am

    Well I don't know what yal talking bout but hi anyway!!

  4. author
    Tammy :

    Nov 15, 2006 5:11 am

    Hi,
    I just did what others just did too, I have just change my password. The only thing I didn't download that tool bar I hate tool bars so when it ask that I close the page. Anyway hope I didn't get anything bad out of this. good luck everyone

  5. author
    Ðjin :

    Nov 5, 2006 12:04 pm

    hey, looks like the guy has changed his site's registration
    Domain name: msncheck.net
    Registrant Contact:

    WhoisGuard
    WhoisGuard Protected (490123a59a0945f2a3a63bca5406cf5a.protect@whoisguard.com)
    +1.6613102107
    Fax: +1.6613102107
    8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd
    8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd
    Westchester, CA 90045
    US

    Administrative Contact:

    WhoisGuard
    WhoisGuard Protected (490123a59a0945f2a3a63bca5406cf5a.protect@whoisguard.com)
    +1.6613102107
    Fax: +1.6613102107
    8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd
    8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd
    Westchester, CA 90045
    US

    Technical Contact:

    WhoisGuard
    WhoisGuard Protected (490123a59a0945f2a3a63bca5406cf5a.protect@whoisguard.com)
    +1.6613102107
    Fax: +1.6613102107
    8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd
    8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd
    Westchester, CA 90045
    US

    Status: Locked

    Name Servers:
    ns1.41m.com
    ns2.41m.com

    Creation date: 19 Aug 2005 16:33:16
    Expiration date: 19 Aug 2007 16:33:16

    Anyways I guess I'll post this on my own blog but please DO listen to this guy, why would anyone give away passwords to strangers?? And if someone blocked you... so what?! hehe cheers

  6. author
    ATTENTION :

    Oct 25, 2006 3:39 am

    look there is a cracker app going around anyway all u need 2 use it is a scrypt of passswords and people are on there way to finishing it all they need when there done is ur address so keep ur address between ur friends

    regards

  7. author
    LILIANA :

    Oct 18, 2006 7:58 pm

    hi. i want know if someone has blocked my msn of theirs contactso, because i have a suspiccion

  8. author
    Me :

    Oct 18, 2006 9:01 am

    Hi!

    ty for da info, but i look at this after i installed it XP, i tryed to delete everything but i cant de lete that stupid toolbar.:@

    NEVER DOWNLOAD ALL THAT SHIT

    Me

  9. author
    georgie :

    Oct 9, 2006 1:21 am

    how do i get a friend back that i blocked then deleted, it just doesnt work no more, we are talking now but not thru msn

  10. author
    milk :

    Oct 6, 2006 11:44 am

    Hmmmmmm...intresting!

Leave a comment


XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Home | Software | Terms & Conditions | Sitemap | John Godley © 2008
Close
E-mail It